Be a Label Reader.
The obvious food to aviod is wheat. But there is gluten in other grains as well: rye, barley, triticale, and bran (which I think makes a cool boy's name). Don't eat anything that is made from these grains, such as most breads, pastas, and baked goods.
A few no-no's that aren't so obvious are malt and pretty much all premade soups, whether a dry mix or canned. Be sure to check broth and boullion ingredients as well. Also be careful with processed meats and sauces, including soy sauce and marinades.
Some ingredients that may contain gluten are:
- hydrolyzed vegetable protein
- mono- and di-glycerides
- modified food starch
- caramel color
I read labels all the time at the store. After a while I just know which products I can eat and which I can't, but I still check from time to time since ingredients can change. If an ingredient seems iffy, call the manufacturer to be sure. Please be careful; it's better to be safe than sorry.
Don't be discouaged about *all the foods* you can't eat; focus on everything you can! There really is so much more you can eat that it makes the "list" of avoidables pale in comparison.
Next Friday I'll post the second installment of Gluten Free Friday. See ya there!